01

About Me

Hi!

 

My name is Joel and I've recently returned from Amsterdam having just finished my internship at Sruli Recht.

Having just completed my internship, I now have a fresh insight into the way a studio is run and how to execute and deliver projects 

I enjoy creating unexpected design solutions to everyday problems. Designing products infuses my life with constant excitement as it challenges me to learn new skills for the specific job at hand, in turn broadening my knowledge of the world.

Experience

 

Sruli Recht – Amsterdam Design Internship (2019)

Internship undertaken at Sruli Recht's Studio in Amsterdam. During this internship I have designed products, created prototypes, conducted research, organised the fabrication of components with both overseas and national suppliers, sourced materials, successfully delivered projects and undertaken standard studio practice.

Peter’s Pine Workshop - Showroom Assistant (2011 – 2015)

During my GCSEs and A-levels I worked part time at an independent furniture store. Day to day tasks included: altering and assembling furniture, Applying finishes (paint, wax and stains), Delivering furniture, dealing with customers and general upkeep of the workshop.

Schoenemann Design Ltd - Work Placement (2011)

Shadowed the designers whilst they developed proposals for Cross-Rail and Metro style trains. During this placement I was exposed to the rigid requirements surrounding rail design.

Qualifications

2:1 BA Product Design York St John University (2015-2018)

Adobe Certified Associate in Visual Design Using Adobe Photoshop

Adobe Certified Associate in Print & Digital Publication Using Adobe InDesign

Adobe Certified Associate in Graphic Design & Illustration Using Adobe Illustrator

Autodesk Fusion 360 Certified User

Interests

In 2016 I purchased a 3D printer, this has been an invaluable asset during my studies and personal practice. Slicer software which I have experience using is as follows:

  • Cura

  • Slic3r

  • MakerbotPrint

CAD software is something which I have taken an interest in from an early age, the following are programs which I have experience in:

  • 2D Design (2009-2015)

  • ProDesktop (2010-2011)

  • SketchUp (2010-2013)

  • SolidWorks (2011-2016)

  • CoralDraw (2015-2016)

  • Autodesk Fusion 360 (2016-Present)

  • Blender (2019-Present)

In my free time I enjoy climbing. I was an active member of YSJ Mountaineering Society for the duration of my degree, this allowed me to participate in the 2017 and 2018 NUBS (Northern Universities Bouldering Series), and has also permitted me to climb in the Yorkshire Dales, Peak District, Lake District, Wales and France.